11 December, 2008

2009 IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens

The 2009 IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens will be held from Thursday, 5 March, to Saturday, 7 March 2009 at Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The IRB has also announced details of the regional qualifying tournaments that will provide the finalists for both the men’s and women’s competitions. Nine Unions will qualify directly for the men’s Tournament (the eight quarter-finalists from 2005: Fiji, New Zealand, England, Australia, France, Scotland, Argentina and South Africa and the Host Union, the Arabian Gulf). A further 15 places will be filled via qualifiers in all six regions which will kick-off in January 2008. Three qualifiers will come from Africa, two from North America, one from South America, two from Asia, five from Europe and two from Oceania. This will guarantee the presence of some teams not regularly seen on the IRB Sevens World Series circuit.

No comments: